Creating and Editing Groups

Groups are easy to create and manage in your Settings.

Updated over a week ago

Groups are a great way to organize your people. Groups make sending out Broadcast messages easier and more effective because you can target the appropriate people with your messaging.

As of April 10, 2024, newly created free Gloo accounts are limited to 3 Groups at a time. To use more than 3 Groups, consider upgrading to a Gloo+ membership.

How do I create a new group?

1. Under your My People menu, navigate to Groups and click Create a Group.

3. Name your group, add a helpful description for internal use, and click Create.

How do I add people to a group?

  1. Click View next to the group you want to add people to.

  2. Click Add people.

  3. Select the new people you want to add and click Add people.

How do I remove people from a group?

  1. Click View next to the group you want to remove people from.

  2. Click the trash icon to remove them from the group.

Note: You can also add or remove people from a group using Effects as long as your group is public.

How do I edit a group?

  1. Click View next to the group you want to edit or delete.

  2. Click Edit Group.

  3. Edit the details and click Save.

Note: You can also delete a group through this menu.

How do I delete a group?

  1. From the list of groups, click the trash icon to the right of the group you want to delete.

How do I export a group?

  1. Click View next to the group you want to export.

  2. Click the Export icon.

  3. Click Download.

Making a Group Private

The only way to populate a private group is by a Gloo administrator manually adding people- no one can opt in any other way, like by texting in a Keyword with an Effect.

  1. Click View next to the group you want to make private.

  2. Click Edit Group.

  3. Toggle on Make this group private and click Save.

Group Management with ChMS Integration

When you integrate with your Church Management System, any list that is integrated will automatically become a group in your Gloo account. These groups will be flagged with the symbol of your ChMS to let you know they've been synced over.

If you want to add/remove people from these integrated groups, make the changes in your ChMS account and they will be reflected in your Gloo account once the integration is re-synced. Changes made to Groups in your Gloo account will not impact the group/list in your ChMS.

ChMS integrations are automatically synced every night. You can also manually sync your integration at any point under the integration tab in your settings.

Make sure any changes you want reflected in Gloo are made in your Church Management System. If, for example, you remove someone from a PCO group in Gloo, but not in the corresponding PCO List, that person may initially look like they've been removed. However, at midnight when PCO re-syncs with Gloo, since that person still exists in the List in PCO, they will be synced back into Gloo and reappear in the group you deleted them from.

Did this answer your question?